Lafayette High to Honor Hall of Fame Class During Friday’s Game

The Lafayette High Mighty Lions will be honoring their past stars on Friday.

This week’s non-district contest between visiting Patterson and Lafayette High will also serve as the Mighty Lions’ “Hall of Fame Game” which is dedicated to all of the members of the Lafayette High Athletic Hall of Fame and will feature this years’ inductees.

There will be a halftime ceremony that will have inductees presented with their induction plaques by LHS principal, Dr. Rachel Brown.  Inductees’ names will be added to a newly established display on the Lafayette High campus.

“I wanted to make sure our players know that there is a rich past and a lot of history created from decades of hard work,” LHS head football coach Rob Pool said. “Every good program has a history and future that’s important. We wanted to make sure our players know it’s bigger than them.”

This year’s LHS Athletic Hall of Fame class includes: 2006 Class 5A All-State football MVP Blake Barousse; all-state softball player Micah Barbato Childress; state champion wrestler Marc Comeaux; all-state baseball star Jace Conrad; all-state baseball player and Major Leaguer Lance Cormier; all-state football star and NFL player Trev Faulk; longtime NFL player/coach Jerry Fontenot; world gymnast Leigh Hennessy Robson; all-state softball star Summar Lapeyrouse Childress; all-state football player Leland Padget; state champion wrestler Kenton Rivas; collegiate track star Gene Siner; state champion wrestler Eddie Webb; the 1961 record-setting relay team of Francis Thomas (deceased), Jim Erny, Russel Caffery and Darell Schoest; the 1964 record-setting relay team of Maurice Leblanc, Jimmy Chappel (deceased), Robert Holiday and Ken Lewis and lastly, the 1965 State Champion golf team of Tommy Thomas, Jimmy Thomas (deceased), Don McMath and Ken Murphy.

The weeks’ HOF events include a casual social for inductees and invited guests to be held on Thursday at the Lafayette High boys gym.

Members of the LHS Athletic Hall of Fame nominating committee includes Pool, Lions baseball coach Sam Taulli, LHS Athletic Director Tim Lemaire, Ursula Quoyeser, Gerald Broussard, Maurice Leblanc, Randy Robicheaux, Buffy Massey and Ron Robicheaux. Honorary members Barbara Martin, Rayford Leblanc and Don Hess. 

Everyone is invited and encouraged to attend Friday’s game in particular current LHS Hall of Fame athletes.