Vol 74: Retrospective / Morrison Hotel

Buffalo Springfield – Retrospective: The Best of Buffalo Springfield

Retrospective was released in February 1969, the year following the disbandment of the band which took place in mid 1968, and contained the best and most well known hits by Buffalo Springfield during their short time of activity. Retrospective holds songs that remain immemorial today such as the hit “For What It’s Worth” written by Stephen Stills, one of the most notable members of the band. Stills along with fellow notable member Neil Young put together songs found in this compilation such as: “Mr. Soul,” “Sit Down, I Think I Love You,” “Nowadays Clancy Can’t Even Sing,” and “Broken Arrow.”


The Doors – Morrison Hotel

The fifth studio album by the American rock band the Doors, Morrison Hotel, was released on February 9, 1970 and was largely considered a return to the band’s roots. Morrison Hotel performed much better in sales than it’s predecessor The Soft Parade and managed to peak at number four on the Billboard 200. Upon release the album was immediately certified gold by the RIAA but only produced one double A-side single “You Make Me Real”/”Roadhouse Blues.” Morrison Hortel hosts songs such as: “Roadhouse Blues,” “Waiting for the Sun,” “You Make Me Real,” “Peace Frog,” and “Land Hot.”


You can spin both of these vinyls in their entirety here.