Vol 76: Ricky Lee Jones / Pretzel Logic

Rickie Lee Jones – Rickie Lee Jones

The eponymous debut album by singer-songwriter Rickie Lee Jones was released in 1979 to mostly favorable reviews and hit number 3 on the US charts. The album spawned an instant hit in the form of “Chuck E ‘s in Love” which propelled up to number 4 on the hit singles in the US. Rickie Lee Jones would go on to sell over a million copies worldwide and boasts a hefty track list including: “Chuck E ‘s in Love,” “On Saturday Afternoons in 1963,” “Night Train,” “Young Blood,” “Easy Money,” “The Last Chance Texaco,” “Danny’s All-Star Joint,” “Coolsville,” “Weasel and the White Boys Cool,” “Company,” and “After Hours.”

Steely Dan – Pretzel Logic

Pretzel Logic was released in 1974 as the third studio album by the American rock band Steely Dan. It was subsequently the last album to feature all five members of the band and also featured contributions from many local area Los Angeles studio bands. The album was an instant commercial and critical success propelling the hit single “Rikki Don’t Lose That Number” high onto the charts in the US. Pretzel Logic hosts many hit songs such as: “Rikki Don’t Lose That Number,” “Any Major Dude Will Tell You,” “East St. Louis Toodle-Oo,” and “Pretzel Logic.”

You can spin both of these vinyls in their entirety here.